Shangri-La

Shangri-La

All I want in life

Hello and welcome to my little site. I am Peter Needham, I’m 33 and I live and work in Romiley, Cheshire.

Hmmm, where do I start? Oh yes. I’m a woodturner, photographer and artist and that’s what this site is all about. Until a couple of years ago, I was employed in the electrical and mechanical industry and I was also selling my woodturning work at a craft fair in Derbyshire but I was made redundant when the company got relocated and shortly after, the organiser of the craft fairs stopped running them and so I have decided that I am no longer going to let other people be in charge of my income and ultimately, my life.

I only have one dream for the future and it takes priority over everything else. It is simply to have a modest home in the country. That’s it. Anything else that happens is just the cherry on top. My ideal place would be like the photo above but I would gladly take a piece of land and start from scratch.

When I got made redundant, I was initially very upset but the more I thought about it, the more I realised that working all week for a fraction over minimum wage would never put me in a financial position to make my dream come true and I wouldn’t have much free time to actually do any work on the house. Also, I am caring for my parents and I would have had to give up a normal job so in a way, the redundancy pushed me before I had to jump.

I’d love to get an email from a benevolent landowner that has a corner of their estate that they want to give me out of the kindness of their heart but as the chances of that are pretty slim, I’m doing all I can to make it on my own. I’ve been into photography since I could hold a camera but I’ve worked really hard on learning and improving my technique in the last few years and I have started to make my photography available for sale. I have some photos on Flickr, I have begun adding work to Redbubble and I will soon be filling my portfolio on 500px. Here are links and a brief description of what’s available from me on these sites:

Flickr – Digital downloads via Getty

Redbubble – Print on demand greeting cards, photographic prints, matted prints, mounted prints, canvas prints and framed prints. There’s also iPad, iPod & iPhone cases, t-shirts, long-sleeved tops, hooded tops and kidswear. Ships worldwide.

500px – Digital downloads (available worldwide) & print on demand photographic & canvas prints (only ships to U.S.A. & Canada at  the moment but should be available worldwide soon)

I also have a shop on Folksy through which I will be selling my turned work soon. Please have a look at my woodturning section to see the sort of things I make. I will put a post on here as soon as my shop is properly open for business. My shop on Folksy is called PJN Woodturning which is the name I have always used for my woodturning so if you ever came to the Hartington craft fair, yes, it is me. Hello!

I have got a few other things that I’m going to try but it’s early days yet.

Thanks for sticking with me up to now. If you see anything you like or that someone you know will like, please spread the word. You will be making a young (okay, youngish!) man who feels quite old be very happy!!!

Pete.

P.S. In case you were wondering why Wild Scorpio? Wild because I love wildlife and nature and Scorpio because although I’m not really into astrology, the personality description for my star sign is spookily accurate for me!

Leave a Reply

